Pages




This Army HIVE is open for visitors. An appointment system is in place so before your visit please email or phone the HIVE to book one. Please also ensure that ‘Hands, Face, Space’ is adhered to within the HIVE building and office to protect all visitors and staff. Alternatively our staff are available to answer your queries by email and telephone during the advertised office hours.

If you want to ensure that you receive the very latest information including official Army policy and guidance plus local insights, please contact the HIVE to be added to our distribution list for regular email updates. We abide by the Data Protection Act and you can withdraw your permission to receive our emails at any time.

Please also see HIVE’s other social media platforms: www.facebook.com/ArmyHIVE and Army HIVE Twitter @ArmyHIVEinfo

Thursday, 19 March 2020

School Closure Activities -

Activity Village www.activityvillage.co.uk/school-closures
Colouring and activity sheets coving numerous topics.


Khan Academy https://www.khanacademy.org
Especially good for maths and computing for all ages but other subjects at Secondary level. Note this uses the U.S. grade system but it's mostly common material.


BBC Learning http://www.bbc.co.uk/learning/coursesearch/
This site is old and no longer updated and yet there's so much still available, from language learning to BBC Bitesize for revision. No TV licence required except for content on BBC iPlayer.


Futurelearn https://www.futurelearn.com
Free to access 100s of courses, only pay to upgrade if you need a certificate in your name (own account from age 14+ but younger learners can use a parent account).


Seneca https://www.senecalearning.com
For those revising at GCSE or A level. Tons of free revision content. Paid access to higher level material.


Openlearn https://www.open.edu/openlearn/
Free taster courses aimed at those considering Open University but everyone can access it. Adult level, but some e.g. nature and environment courses could well be of interest to young people.


Blockly https://blockly.games
Learn computer programming skills - fun and free.


Scratch https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/
Creative computer programming


Ted Ed https://ed.ted.com
All sorts of engaging educational videos


National Geographic Kids https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/
Activities and quizzes for younger kids.


Duolingo https://www.duolingo.com
Learn languages for free. Web or app.


Mystery Science https://mysteryscience.com
Free science lessons


The Kids Should See This https://thekidshouldseethis.com
Wide range of cool educational videos


Crash Course https://thecrashcourse.com
You Tube videos on many subjects

Crash Course Kids https://m.youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids
As above for a younger audience


Crest Awards https://www.crestawards.org
Science awards you can complete from home.


iDEA Awards https://idea.org.uk
Digital enterprise award scheme you can complete online.


Paw Print Badges https://www.pawprintbadges.co.uk
Free challenge packs and other downloads. Many activities can be completed indoors. Badges cost but are optional.


Tinkercad https://www.tinkercad.com
All kinds of making.


Prodigy Maths https://www.prodigygame.com
Is in U.S. grades, but good for UK Primary age.


Cbeebies Radio https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio
Listening activities for the younger ones.


Nature Detectives https://naturedetectives.woodlandtrust.org.uk/naturedetectives/
A lot of these can be done in a garden, or if you can get to a remote forest location!


British Council https://www.britishcouncil.org/school-resources/find
Resources for English language learning


Oxford Owl for Home https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/
Lots of free resources for Primary age


Big History Project https://www.bighistoryproject.com/home
Aimed at Secondary age. Multi disciplinary activities.


Geography Games https://world-geography-games.com/world.html
Geography gaming!


Blue Peter Badges https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbbc/joinin/about-blue-peter-badges
If you have a stamp and a nearby post box.


The Artful Parent https://www.facebook.com/artfulparent/
Good, free art activities


Red Ted Art https://www.redtedart.com
Easy arts and crafts for little ones


The Imagination Tree https://theimaginationtree.com
Creative art and craft activities for the very youngest.


Toy Theater https://toytheater.com/
Educational online games


DK Find Out https://www.dkfindout.com/uk/?fbclid=IwAR2wJdpSJSeITf4do6aPhff8A3tAktnmpaxqZbkgudD49l71ep8-sjXmrac
Activities and quizzes


Twinkl https://www.twinkl.co.uk
This is more for printouts, and usually at a fee, but they are offering a month of free access to parents in the event of school closures.

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS NOT AN MOD ENDORSED LIST